Providing career progression

Further Education

Once our healthcare workers have passed the Level 3 qualification, they are encouraged to work towards the Level 4 diploma.

This qualification is specifically designed for learners who work in health and social care in adult settings and want to develop skills and knowledge in order to demonstrate their competence in their role.

Level 4 Diploma in Adult Care

The Level 4 Diploma in Adult Care (England) is specifically designed for learners wanting to work in Adult Social Care in England in the following roles:

Community Care /Support Officers; Social Care Assessor; Care Assessment Officer; Community; Care Assessment Officer; Social Services Officer; Social Care Assistant; Social Work Assistants; Brokerage Worker; OT Assistant; Occupational Assessment Officer; Physiotherapy Assistant; Rehabilitation and Re-ablement Assistant; Independence Support Assistant; Re-ablement Support Workers/Officer; Telecare Assistant; Assistive Technology Co-ordinator/Officer.

This qualification allows learners to learn, develop and practice the skills required for employment and/or career progression in Adult Care in England. Learners may progress to a relevant Level 5 Health and Social Care qualification on completion of this Level 4 Diploma.

Outline of Programme

To achieve the Level 4 Diploma in Health & Social Care (Adults), the candidate must achieve a minimum of 70 credits. 36 credits must be achieved from the Mandatory group, a minimum of 6 credits from Optional Group A and a minimum of 28 credits from Optional Group B. At least 55 credits must be achieved at Level 4 or above. (See table below)


The recommended time to complete this qualification is 12 months.

An Assessor will visit the candidate at their workplace at least once a month for a minimum of 2 hours. In between visits learners will be expected to complete work to ensure progress is made.

Course Units

Mandatory Units

These units cover areas such as:

  • Partnership Working
  • Communication Skills
  • Personal Development
  • Equality & Diversity
  • Person Centred Assessment
  • Support Planning
  • Personalisation
  • Health & Safety
  • Professional Practice
  • Safeguarding
  • Data Protection

Additional Units

The optional units available are designed to add flexibility to the real working context of the candidate.

Group A:
(minimum 6 credits) consists entirely of knowledge units such as:

  • Understanding sensory loss
  • Understand dementia
  • Understanding professional management & leadership
    Understanding public funding

Group B:
(minimum 28 credits) consists of performance based units such as:

  • Providing support
  • Working with families
  • Providing information
  • Developing plans
  • Assessing needs of carers and families
  • Facilitating change and development

Course Entry Requirements

  • The course is open to candidates at any age, of either gender and there are no entry barriers on the grounds of race, creed or academic attainment in learning
  • However, candidates must have previously completed the Level 3 award to begin this course

Are you interested?

Enquire today by calling our team on 0113 827 2347 or by clicking the button below:

Other Courses: